Skip to main content

Georgia McDonald's All-Americans

24, Jan 2023

Georgia McDonald's All-Americans

Georgia is one of the hotbeds for basketball recruiting. That means that the Peach State has produced its fair share of McDonald’s All-Americans. 

The 2023 list of burger boys saw two Georgians added to the lineage of hoopers who have represented the state. Wheeler’s Isaiah Collier and Newton’s Stephon Castle are the most recent players to earn the honors. 

Wheeler has the most McDonald’s All-Americans with six. Isaiah Collier (2023), EJ Montgomery (2018), Jaylen Brown (2015), Jelan Kendrick (2010), JJ Hickson (2007), Shareef Abdur-Rahim (1995) make up the Wildcats who have made the cut. 

Southwest (Macon) is in second place with three. They held it down in the earlier era of the game with Sharone Wright (1991), Eric Manuel (1987), Terry Fair (1979).

2017 and 1991 saw the most players from Georgia to make the list with three each. Wendell CarterCollin Sexton, and MJ Walker were 2017's entrants, and James ForrestKeith LeGree, and Sharone Wright made it in 1991. 

Jones County's Al Wood was the first burger boy from the peach. He was part of the inaugural team in 1977. 

Going back through history, here are all of the hoopers from Georgia to be named to the McDonald’s All-American roster since the game’s origin in 1977. 

2023 - Isaiah Collier (Wheeler), Stephon Castle (Newton)

2021 - Jabari Smith (Sandy Creek) 

2020- - Sharife Cooper (McEachern), Walker Kessler (Woodward Academy)

2019 - Anthony Edwards (Holy Spirit Prep) 

2018 - EJ Montgomery (Wheeler), Reggie Perry (Thomasville)

2017 - Wendell Carter (Pace), Collin Sexton (Pebblebrook), MJ Walker (Jonesboro)

2016 - Alterique Gilbert (Miller Grove), Kobi Simmons (St. Francis)

2015 - Jaylen Brown (Wheeler)

2012 - Shaq Goodwin (SW Dekalb), Tony Parker (Miller Grove)

2011 - Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Greenville), Shannon Scott (Milton)

2010 - Jelan Kendrick (Wheeler)

2009 - Derrick Favors (South Atlanta)

2008 - Al-Farouq Aminu (Norcross), Chris Singleton (Dunwoody)

2007 - JJ Hickson (Wheeler), Gani Lawal (Norcross)

2006 - Javaris Crittenton (SACA)

2005 - Korvotney Barber (Manchester), Lou Williams (South Gwinnett)

2004 - Dwight Howard (SACA), Randolph Morris (Landmark Christian)

2001 - Kwame Brown (Glynn Academy)

1999 - Donnell Harvey (Randolph-Clay)

1997 - Dion Glover (Cedar Grove)

1995 - Shareef Abdur-Rahim (Wheeler)

1993 - Dontonio Wingfield (Westover)

1992 - Carlos Strong (Cedar Shoals)

1991 - James Forrest (Atlanta Southside), Keith LeGree (Statesboro), Sharone Wright (Southwest Macon)

1990 - Darrin Hancock (Griffin)

1987 - Eric Manuel (Southwest Macon), Elmore Spencer (Booker T. Washington)

1986 - Brian Oliver (Wills)

1985 - Pervis Ellison (Savannah)

1984 - Cedric Jenkins (Terrell County)

1983 - Melvin Howard (Decatur)

1982 - Donald Harty (Baldwin), Kenny Walker (Crawford County)

1980 - James Banks (Hoke Smith)

1979 - Terry Fair (Southwest Macon)

1977 - Al Wood (Jones County)


Josh Tec

Josh Tec is a Georgia State graduate with a degree in journalism. Tec aspires to work in basketball media as his career continues. At Georgia State, he graduated with Summa Cum Laude honors and was recognized as a leader in the classroom. Outside of basketball, Tec loves movies and perpetually seeks out his next favorite film.